The Conference on Empirical Legal Studies is sponsored by the Society for Empirical Legal Studies (SELS) and Stanford Law School. The conference features original empirical legal scholarship by leading scholars from a diverse range of fields.

Date and Venue

CELS was held on November 9-10, 2012, at Stanford Law School.


The program is available here.


The CELS registration deadline has passed.

Keynote Address

Ian Ayres
William K. Townsend Professor of Law, Yale Law School
(to be delivered at the conference dinner on Nov. 9)

Society for Empirical Legal Studies


Daniel E. Ho

Executive Director

Dawn Chutkow

Stanford Program Committee

Robert M. Daines
David Freeman Engstrom
Deborah R. Hensler
Daniel P. Kessler
Michael Klausner
Alison D. Morantz

Board of Directors

David Abrams (University of Pennsylvania Law School)
Jennifer Arlen (New York University Law School)
Bernie Black (Northwestern University Law School)
Shari Diamond (Northwestern University Law School)
John Donohue (Stanford Law School)
Theodore Eisenberg (Cornell Law School)
Valerie Hans (Cornell Law School)
Michael Heise (Cornell Law School)
Daniel E. Ho (Stanford Law School)
Geoffrey Miller (New York University Law School)
Eric Talley (University of California at Berkeley Boalt Hall Law School)
Emerson Tiller (Northwestern University Law School)